In the digital marketing industry, we live and breathe acronyms. If you’ve ever been to a digital marketing report meeting, you’ve probably heard your team say things like “changing the CTA increased our CTR and decreased our BR,” or “we’re focusing on these keyword clusters for this month’s SEO strategy.”
Today, digital marketing agencies are faced with adapting to Google’s ever-changing algorithms, and when it comes to analytics, the list of acronyms used to describe performance are always changing.
Here’s a look at some of the most important digital marketing acronyms and how they affect your company’s marketing results and strategy.
1. GA: Google Analytics
It’s one of the most powerful marketing tools out there – and it’s free! By attaching Google Analytics to a website, you can view valuable high-level information such as the number of website visits or pageviews during a certain time frame and compare the results to different time frames.
You can also dive deeper and get more specific information such as top traffic sources, how much time a user spends on a page, where users live and more. Google Analytics helps marketers develop effective strategies because it also measures conversions, sales and other goals.
2. CMS: Content Management System
It’s a generic term for a program used to edit and publish website content. Many B2B and B2C companies like the ease of being able to edit a webpage themselves versus submitting a help ticket to a website provider. By having a website built on a CMS, SEO keywords and meta data to be easily added to the backend of the website — without requiring the skillsets or costs of a web programmer. Some popular CMSs in the market place are Wordpress, Sitefinity and Kentico.
3. HTML: Hyper Text Markup Language
This language has many tags written to depict the font, color, images and hyperlinks of a website. Web browsers such as Google Chrome and Internet Explorer read HTML documents and compose them into visible pages that a user sees. A website with well-organized HTML is important to digital marketing efforts because it can improve search engine rankings, helping more users land on your website.
4. SERPs: Search Engine Results Pages
A company’s SERP ranking will be the difference between success and failure. The page is what users are directed to right after typing a query into search engines like Google or Bing. So if the query is “doughnut shops in Tampa,” the next page showing the results of your search is the SERP — and every company in the world wants that top ranking.
5. CTA: Call To Action
You probably didn’t know the “Buy Now” button in an email or a paragraph at the end of a blog post encouraging readers to perform an action had a name. These buttons, website headers or content paragraphs on a website or in an email are created with the goal of pushing readers or users to further engage with a company, leading to more conversions and sales.
6. PPC: Pay-Per-Click
This term is used for a type of digital advertising that charges a company or account every time a user clicks on the ad. Social media platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram, and search engines, such as Google and Bing, allow pay-per-click advertising. This type of advertising can be more effective than traditional TV and radio ads because companies only pay when a user clicks on the ad.
7. CPC: Cost Per Click
A cost per click is a great way to gauge the success of pay-per-click campaigns. A Max CPC is the dollar amount a company or advertiser is willing to spend every time a user clicks on an ad. An Average CPC is the actual price a company is charged per click. This number will always be less than the Max CPC. Setting up Average CPC and Max CPC can be complicated if you don’t have experience in digital advertising, but it’s vital to understanding the effectiveness of your digital advertising efforts.
8. CTR: Click Through Rate
To understand a Click Through Rate, think of your company’s website, online ad, social media post or email as a home you want people to visit. The number of visitors who actually knock on your door and come in, instead of standing outside the home, is like the CTR. This is handy for gauging if people are further interacting with your brand or company after seeing an initial online ad, email or search result.
To solve for Click Through Rate, you simply take clicks (people who knocked on your door) and divide by the number of impressions (people who found your house) and then multiple by 100. For example, if you had 100 impressions and 10 clicks you would have a 10% CTR. 10 clicks ÷ 100 impressions = .10 .10 x 100 = 10%
9. BR: Bounce Rate
In an ideal word, users would never leave your website. But the bounce rate is a website analytics metric that pinpoints the percentage of visitors who see webpage, then leave the website without viewing any other pages. In many cases, this can be interpreted as a “First impressions fail,” meaning the visitor was not enticed enough by the landing page to stick around and click further through the website. An acceptable bounce rate varies by industry or website purpose, but all companies should want a low bounce rate.
10. WOW, MOM, and YOY: Week Over Week, Month Over Month, and Year Over Year
When it comes to reporting on marketing efforts, WOW, MOM and YOY are used to compare marketing metrics from two timeframes. An example of a Month Over Month comparison is looking at the number of website users in March 2019 and users in February 2019.
Year Over Year would be comparing the number of users in March 2019 to users in March 2018. WOW and MOM tend to show more extreme measures, as they are affected more by timely events such as website visits over a holiday weekend or coupon code influences on ecommerce websites.
11. SSL: Secure Socket Layer
Simply put, an SSL lets users know your website is secure. Deploying an SSL will trigger “https” and a lock symbol to appear in the URL bar. Having a secure site has many benefits, especially if you are selling products online. Users can be wary about inputting credit card information on a website they’ve never visited before and the “https” and lock symbol can boost customer trust.
Having an SSL certificate not only lets users know your site is secure, but it can provide a search engine ranking boost because Google gives priority to SSL websites over non-secure sites. If your site does not have an SSL certificate, make that a top priority today.
12. GTM: Google Tag Manager
This tool is a great resource for managing multiple website tags, which are snippets of code on a website or mobile app. Tags track metrics like conversions, remarketing, button clicks and more, and GTM makes it possible to simply track this data without getting deep into coding. Everything can be managed from one dashboard and GTM can save time and money when you properly use the tool instead of relying on a web developer.
13. CRO: Conversion Rate Optimization
How do you ensure your digital marketing efforts are as effective as possible? With Conversion Rate Optimization. This process takes a company’s goal (which is usually sales) and determines if areas on a website or other digital asset like email are best positioned to accomplish that goal. So if an online shoe company wants to convert more of their website users into sandal buyers, Conversion Rate Optimization will look for ways to make that happen.
It could be adding a “Buy Now” button on a sandal promotion landing page that drives users to a checkout page. Or it could be examining the photos, description and price of the sandals to ensure the product is as appealing as possible. This process varies depending on the industry, but is critical no matter the vertical.
14. ROAS: Return On Advertising Spend
This term refers to the fundamental way of tracking how much more money your company is earning in response to how much money the company spent on advertisement. Let’s say you spent $100 on an online ad and that ad generated $1,000 in sales. Your ROAS would be 10x your initial investment. It’s a basic principal, but any business or enterprise should employ it before spending any money on online ads.
15. CPM: Cost Per Mille
Cost Per Mille is used to understand how much it costs for your ad to be seen or viewed by 1,000 users. In most cases, the acronym is used for display campaigns or videos when the goal is to drive awareness in the form of views and impressions and not necessarily clicks.
Every industry has its jargon and the digital marketing world is no different. The experts at Bayshore Solutions don’t just know digital marketing lingo, we know digital marketing. Let us worry about the CTAs, CPCs and CTRs, so you can focus on your business and industry. Call (866) 352-4791 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to start a discussion.
For more than 20 years, Bayshore Solutions has provided innovative website and digital marketing expertise to clients across the United States. As a full-service agency, we help you grow your business by understanding your goals, defining customer audiences, creating stories, implementing technology, and learning from outcomes.